Sarah’s Hawaiian Flowers

hawaiianBright colors and a bold design are what makes these Hawaiian Flowers so striking.

A talented crochet artist named Sarah has shared her original pattern to make this crochet flower on her blog called sarah london.

Her work is quite distinctive as she likes to use bold colors with high contrast.

I’ve not seen such colorful crochet work before and hope to freshen some of my own work  after seeing how striking bold color choices can make such a beautiful difference.

I made my flower using a soft and slippery yarn that is known for it’s pretty colors. My flower did not turn out as nice as Sarah’s. The softness of the yarn I used made up a floppy, sloppy flower that does not hold its shape very well. My picture makes it look like that the central open area of each petal is a different shape when in fact they are identical. My suggestion would be to use a stiffer yarn even if you have to sacrifice on color choice to do so.

Sarah presents this pattern in four parts as her monthly surprise/crochet-along motif. Rather than let you to find each of the day’s posts, I’ve included the links to each here.

Round 1
Round 2
Round 3
Round 4
Finished Flowers joined into a fabric

One thing that I did do a bit differently than Sarah was in how I crocheted the tips of each flower (round 4).  I worked 8 double crochet up the side of the petal. In the 9th stitch I made 2 double crochet, chained 2 and then made 2 double crochet in the 10th stitch/first stitch heading back to the base of the flower.

It made my flower petal have a little bit of a point on the tip of each petal.

I can’t wait to see what other great patterns she shares.

5 comments

  1. Awesome! Thanks for that, I couldn’t find her links in her blog and you saved the day. 🙂

    1. You are most welcome. It was a bit like hide and go seek finding the links on her site which is why I included them. I get the whole mystery aspect of the project but once all the steps were online, not sure why she didn’t go ahead and put all of the links in at least one of her posts.

  2. Hey cfl,
    Could you tell me what yarn & hook size you used? Sarah doesn’t mention anything in her blog and I want to make sure I use the stiffer yarn.
    Thank you!

    1. Sorry for the way overdue reply. I used Caron’s Simply Soft and like I said in the post, it was way too soft for the pattern. Probably traditional Red Heart 4 ply acrylic or a stiff crochet thread would work better for the flower to hold it’s shape. Also might pay to use the smallest needle you can with the yarn you are using.

  3. Amo este blog !

Leave a Reply

